Why I chose Python as my first programming language.๐Ÿ

And why you should too if you want to become a software engineer.

ยท

5 min read

Hello reader, welcome to my first-ever post on Hashnode, and I'm super excited about writing this piece.

Welcome...to my humble abode of coding, where I turn caffeine into code and chaos into programs.

This is one small step for me and well...that's about it. A small step towards something more.

My journey into the world of tech officially kicks off in a few days or weeks and as tradition demands, most tech folks have already decided on their first programming language to start their careers with. Some aspiring techies choose Java, some probably C++, and for most, the famous trio of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

Then there are also folks like me, who choose Python to start with. I'll tell you why I chose Python but first, let me take you three years back.

You could skip this part and I'd totally understand you. No hard feelings.

So when I was younger, I was a computer science student back in secondary school and our class was being taught on the topic of programming languages at a certain point in time.

My computer teacher taught us one of them called QBASIC and when I began coding QBASIC, I was able to program a quiz and carry out little exercises like drawing a box, using PRINT, and trying out other functions.

My interest in programming languages was piqued and I got to learn about HTML and CSS. That was where it all began.

I developed a keen interest in web development and designing and I used to love playing around with HTML and CSS. I began learning new things by following those PDFs on the legendary Tutorialspoint website.

I would always be excited to learn new codes, and I couldn't wait to try them out on the computer. I remember spending hours scribbling down codes on my notes, and I would make it a point to try them out the next day at school. At lunchtime. In the computer laboratory.

It was a thrilling experience for me, as I felt a sense of accomplishment every time I managed to make something work.

However, as time went on, I gradually lost interest in programming.

I think it was mainly because I was too young to fully understand it and didn't have any guidance to help me, and also I had to focus on my studies and get good grades as the nerd that I was back then. Still 100% nerdy.

I didn't have much time to pursue my passion and it slowly faded away. But, I never really lost my interest in programming and I always wanted to give it another try, and here we are, five years later...

When I came back into the world of programming a few months ago, I was still so interested in web development so I considered learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript (in particular) as my first programming language.

Well, we all know HTML and CSS aren't programming languages, right?

As I explored other different languages, I realized that there was one language that stood out for me and that was Python.

This sudden interest was due to the rave Python had on YouTube and literary everywhere, it was pretty hard to miss.

Here are 5 reasons why I chose Python as my first programming language and why it stood out to me above the others:

Popularity

Everywhere I looked, I saw Python being used in projects, from web development to data analysis to machine learning.

Everywhere I went on youtube or read on literary sources, I saw the rave and enthusiasm about Python, which made me more interested. The little boy in me was always wanted to build games smiled when he found out I could do that with Python

Well, other languages also make game dev possible. But just let this one slide, will you?

Simplicity

Python's syntax is so simple and easy to read, which makes it more approachable than other languages. This realization was particularly important for me as a beginner, as it allowed me to focus on learning programming concepts rather than getting bogged down by complex syntax. At least not at the early stages.

Versatility

Python is a highly versatile language and can be used for a wide range of tasks. This made it an attractive choice as it will allow me to explore different areas of programming and find something that I am truly passionate about. So, I guess you'd find what works for you too.

Community

Python has a huge and supportive community, which is one of the reasons why the language is so popular. The abundance of resources and support available for learning Python, such as online tutorials, forums, and documentation, makes it easier for me to get help when I need it.

Job Opportunities

Python is a highly in-demand language (after JavaScript, geez! Definitely going for that as my second programming language), and I saw many job opportunities available for Python developers, from startups to big companies, which made it an attractive choice for a career.

All these and a few more reasons are what made Python stand out for me and that was why I decided to join the fast-moving and choose it as my first programming language to learn.

So, here we go...

Strap in folks, because I, the tech adventurer, am about to take you on a wild ride into the uncharted territories of programming!

With my stubborn, unrelenting spirit and determination, we'll tackle any obstacle that comes our way and come out victorious. So, let's pack our bags, sharpen our coding skills and let's freaking go!

*Plays that sick Avengers theme song as the light fades into darkness*

ย